Eleven Abergele Harriers took part in the final round of the Borders Road Running League held over a 4.1 mile course at Deeside on Wednesday evening.

Both Carol Willgoose (LV50) and Chris Birch (LV60), despite carrying injuries in the final race, won their respective age categories for the season overall.

Jeni Richards took runner up in her age category (LV45).


Richard Wilyman led the team home in 23m 42s for an impressive 16th overall, his highest Borders League position to date.

Darren Blazier ran 25m 22s for  59th with Rob Armstrong finishing in 26m 01s for 71st.

Mark Mayers and Andy Simpson, just 3 days after running the London Marathon, raced in together with Mark finishing in 27m 52s for 124th just ahead of Andy in 27m 55s for 125th.  Darren Batterby ran just over 30m for 184th with Graham Arden and John Essary crossing the line in 36m 20s for 258th and 36m 30s for 261st. Rachel Shipley, having had a fantastic first season, led the ladies home in 30m 38s for 193rd.  Carol Willgoose ran 30m 48s for 198th to take the LV50 title for the season while Chris Birch, unbeaten in her age category, finished in   34m 40s for 248th to take the FV60 title overall.