Seventeen Abergele Harriers took part in the opening fixture of the 2015/2016 Borders Road Running League. A record turnout of over 370 runners lined up for the 5 mile race at Capenhurst on Sunday.

John Morris led the team home in 27m 30s for 10th position overall followed by Richard Wilyman running 28m 47s (26th). Darren Blazier finished in 29m 29s (36th) just ahead of Ben Lightowler running 29m 39s (38th). Jodi Waters ran 30m 55s (69th) James Salt 32m 00s (101st) and Mark Mayers 33m 18s (132nd). John Jones crossed the line in 35m 10s (181st) with Darren Battersby hot on his heels finishing in 35m 20s (186th). Graeme Shone ran 36m 00s (202nd) followed by Martin Barnaby finishing in 36m 23s (217th). Warren Brown, making his debut for the club, ran 36m 26s (221st) with Anthony Howe completing an excellent team performance by finishing in 36m 56s (241st)


Emma Collins led the ladies home in 34m 45s for 177th overall followed by

birthday girl, Rachel Shipley, running 35m 16s (185th). Amy Owen-Jones finished in 36m 40s (230th) with Chris Birch crossing the line in 37m 55s (261st).