Caernarfon BL 2010 ~ 23/10/2010

Fifteen Abergele Harriers competed in the opening round of the Borders League held at Caernarvon on Sunday 24th October. 231 runners completed the10k course with 6 Harriers achieving personal best times for the distance, three ladies winning their respective age groups and the ladies team topping the first division. The team of 9 men and 6 ladies included 2 new members making their debut for the club, Emma Collins and Delyth Evans.

Darren Blazier led the team home in 34m 43s for 14th position. Richard Wilyman ran 38m 40s (PB) for 50th with Richie Lee finishing in 40m 05s for 72nd. Pete Mould ran 41m 01s (PB) for 82nd while Mark Mayers finished in 41m 48s (PB) and 96th position. Andy Simpson ran 42m 17s for 102nd just 1 position ahead of Emma Collins finishing in 42m 21s (PB) for 103rd overall, 8th lady and 1st LV45. Grahame Shone completed the distance in 43m 06s for 112th and 1st MV60 with Jeni Richards running 44m 05s (PB) for 126th overall, 10th lady and 2nd LV45. Carol Willgoose finished in 45m exactly for 141st, 13th lady and first LV50 while Christine Birch also won her category finishing in 46m 07s (vet PB) for 152nd, 16th lady and 1st LV60. Sian Hall, despite illness, ran just outside her personal best to finish in 50m 31s for 190th and 35th lady. The team was completed by Peter Hardy running 51m 37s (198th), Delyth Evans running 53m 07s (211th - 49th lady) and John Essary finishing in 55m 08s (220th).